Jumping screen

Get help navigating the site and using its features.

Re: Jumping screen

New postby LeapFrog Libby on Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:48 pm

I also have Vista.. no problems for me..
Sew With Love
Libby
User avatar
LeapFrog Libby
 
Posts: 2044
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

Re: Jumping screen

New postby HeyJudee on Tue Nov 24, 2009 6:40 pm

I'm using Windows XP Professional with IE 8...happens to me now but I don't remember it ever happening when I was using IE 6.
TTFN from Canada
Judy
User avatar
HeyJudee
 
Posts: 2150
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 8:08 pm
Location: Ottawa-Gatineau

Re: Jumping screen

New postby Mom of Six on Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:14 pm

It has never happened to me unless I bumped a button on the side of my mouse.
Of course I don't do long posts very often.
Barb
wife to 1
Mom to Six
Mother in Law to 2
Grandma to 4
Lunchlady
User avatar
Mom of Six
2009 Stash Challenge Winner - Clean Sweep!
2009 Stash Challenge Winner - Clean Sweep!
 
Posts: 2043
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:44 am
Location: Michigan

Re: Jumping screen

New postby boblinnegan on Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:41 am

This is a known bug in Internet Explorer 8. It doesn't properly handle text boxes that aren't of a fixed, pre-set width. On SWU, the text boxes (along with all the other content on the site) are wider or narrower depending on your window size so that everything fits properly for people with various window and monitor sizes.

For more details on the Internet Explorer 8 bug, see:

  1. https://connect.microsoft.com/IE/feedback/ViewFeedback.aspx?FeedbackID=432377
  2. http://grantovich.net/posts/2009/06/that-weird-ie8-textarea-bug/
  3. http://www.microsoft.com/communities/newsgroups/list/en-us/default.aspx?dg=microsoft.public.internetexplorer.beta&tid=b95398ac-e5cc-4642-9c9f-d85d08deeac6&cat=en_us_2BAF8EC5-645C-4477-A380-0F1CF6C102F9&lang=&cr=&sloc=&p=1
  4. http://www.mail-archive.com/wikibugs-l@lists.wikimedia.org/msg16656.html
  5. etc.
For now, I've implemented a workaround which should hide the problem in IE8 while not affecting other browsers, but the real solution is for Microsoft to fix the bug (which they've known about since April, as evidenced in that first link above) or (even better) for you to simply use a different web browser.

I'd suggest either Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome as better and more secure alternatives to Internet Explorer.
User avatar
boblinnegan
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:50 am
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Jumping screen

New postby kjh9835 on Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:13 am

I'm using Vista also but I do not have Internet Expolorer 8. I get a message screen that pops up once in awhile asking me to upgrade but I just close it out.

I don't have any issues with whatever I'm using so why bother to upgrade to 8? I'm basically computer illiterate so I could not even tell you what version of anything I'm using. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. That's why our first computer (1999, running Windows 98) lasted us until 2008 with no upgrades until we bought a digital camera that wasn't compatible with 98 so we bought a new computer cheaper than upgrading everything. Until a few months ago I still had floppies with pics on them (took those to picture maker at CVS for prints).

One of these days I'm going have to take a computer class at USI or Ivy Tech.....

For now the jumping screen isn't that big of a deal, I just wondered if it was me or the site since it doesn't happen on other forums.

Kathy
kjh9835
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 8:59 am
Location: Mt Vernon, IN

Re: Jumping screen

New postby boblinnegan on Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:15 am

kjh9835 wrote:I don't have any issues with whatever I'm using so why bother to upgrade to 8?

Er, but I thought this thread was about issues you're having? :-) Try Firefox or Chrome.

kjh9835 wrote:I'm using Vista also but I do not have Internet Expolorer 8.

Anyway, according to our server logs you are definitely already using Internet Explorer 8. Your last post was made with:

"Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.0; Trident/4.0; FBSMTWB; SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; Media Center PC 5.0; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30618)"

So the problem was caused by Internet Explorer 8 and the workaround I implemented should fix the problem for you.
User avatar
boblinnegan
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:50 am
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Jumping screen

New postby lendube on Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:50 am

So, Bob, what else do you know about us?????????? Hmmmmm????????????? :think: :? JK.
Lennie

The Man who says it can't be done should not Interrupt the Woman doing it.
User avatar
lendube
 
Posts: 3249
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:52 am
Location: So. Calif. Mtns.

Re: Jumping screen

New postby HeyJudee on Wed Nov 25, 2009 5:23 pm

lendube wrote:So, Bob, what else do you know about us?????????? Hmmmmm????????????? :think: :? JK.

Lennie, Whatever else he knows...bet he's not saying... ;)

Bob, I just tested and the screen doesn't jump any longer! So your fix seems to be working for me! :dance: (I miss the thumbs up smilie) Thanks!
TTFN from Canada
Judy
User avatar
HeyJudee
 
Posts: 2150
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 8:08 pm
Location: Ottawa-Gatineau

Re: Jumping screen

New postby kjh9835 on Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:37 pm

I meant I don't have any other computer issues here or on other forums. I figured I was using an older version of Internet Explorer because I keep getting the message box about upgrading but I haven't. I'll try the fix in the next day or so when I have time and see if it helps.
Thanks,
Kathy
kjh9835
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 8:59 am
Location: Mt Vernon, IN

Previous


Return to Using Sew What's Up


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests