Peaches

Share your favorite recipes. Enter at your own risk - may be craving inducing!

Peaches

New postby Upholsteress on Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:10 pm

If I leave these pretty but not quite ripe store bought peaches in the sun on my kitchen table... will they ripen up some more? :pray:
Cheryl Image

I am a seamstress first... an upholsterer by trade... a flautist by heart... and forever a daughter of the Most High.
Upholsteress

Re: Peaches

New postby lendube on Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:12 pm

Try a brown paper bag out of the sun for better results. ;) Stick a banana in with them if you have one.
Lennie

The Man who says it can't be done should not Interrupt the Woman doing it.
lendube

New postby HeyJudee on Sun Aug 19, 2007 7:21 pm

I have a book called Get Fresh that explains how to select, store & prep fruits & veggies. For Peaches it says...

"You can't ripen a peach at room temperature no matter what people might say. The old paper bag routine might create a softer peach, but not a sweeter, riper one. So buy your peaches perfectly ripe and they will hold a day or two at room temperature, away from direct sunlight. If you've bought a basket, don't leave the peaches in it. Take them out and store them in a single layer. Ripe peaches last up to a week, uncovered in the fridge."

Hope this helps.
HeyJudee

New postby Upholsteress on Mon Aug 20, 2007 11:07 am

Thanks for the tips!!! :D (I already ate my nanner... :oops: hehe) I guess I will just take my chances and eat the peaches this afternoon... I had them on the table in partial sun.. and they seem a bit softer and smell yummier... I will let ya know how they taste later.. ;)
Cheryl Image

I am a seamstress first... an upholsterer by trade... a flautist by heart... and forever a daughter of the Most High.
Upholsteress

New postby sewingrandma on Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:48 am