Sewing with Thinsulate

Everything about sewing clothing that fits!

Sewing with Thinsulate

New postby kaitlinnegan on Mon Oct 11, 2010 11:56 am

Does anyone have experience sewing with Thinsulate? I've never used it before, but I just ordered some from Vogue Fabrics for a winter coat. I had hoped to make a winter coat a couple of years ago, but now I'm finally getting around to it. :)

I'm reading a bit about sewing with Thinsulate on PatternReview and other places, but I'm curious if any of you have first hand experience!
Kaitlinnegan - your Sew What's Up administrator
Private message me if you have questions/comments/suggestions
Please e-mail me at kaitlinnegan@gmail.com if you have trouble logging in.
kaitlinnegan
Site Admin

Re: Sewing with Thinsulate

New postby lendube on Mon Oct 11, 2010 4:09 pm

No sewing advice but thought this was interesting. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thinsulate
Lennie

The Man who says it can't be done should not Interrupt the Woman doing it.
lendube

New postby Sancin on Tue Oct 12, 2010 5:05 am

I lined a coat several years ago with thinsulate and ended up taking it out. I found it quite stiff and did not drape well with the coat fabric. The coat was fullish. I ended up using the thinsulate when making placemates. I am not sure what else I would use it for but it was quite firm as it is quilted but some sort of steam pressing to quilt.
*~*~*~* Nancy*~*~*~*

God put me on this earth to sew and finish a certain number of things. I am so far behind now.....I will never die!.......If I stitch fast enough does it count as an aerobic exercise?
Sancin

New postby kaitlinnegan on Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:51 pm

I was reading about the stiffness issue - some people recommend making a detachable lining, but I don't really want to go to all that trouble to make a separate, fully finished lining.