Which one is better?

Troubleshoot a problem or get machine recommendations.

Which one is better?

New postby eddi3wh0 on Thu Jul 01, 2010 4:13 pm

NEWBIE here, I'm trying to get back into sewing but I'm stuck between two machines; the Brother XL-2600i and the Brother LX-3125. These two are both in my price range as I can get them for under $80 but not sure which is better or if there is anything else out there that's better and under my price range through ebay and such; I've added the links to these two machines for your convenience.

I figured that the LX is better because you can adjust stitch length and width but the XL has been rated as the best one most people get, but I don't know which one can handle heavier fabrics better like jeans. I mostly plan on using this machine to do repairs and and make some cloths with my old patterns. Any recommendation? :)

http://www.brother-usa.com/HomeSewing/modeldetail.aspx?PRODUCTID=XL2600i
http://www.brother-usa.com/HomeSewing/modeldetail.aspx?PRODUCTID=LX3125&tab=spec
eddi3wh0

Re: Which one is better?

New postby MartySews2 on Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:28 pm

The XL-2600i has more sewing options with less frustration based on what was written in your links. The LX3125 is very lightweight & I don't think it would hold up to sewing jeans or any heavy fabrics. Just my personal opinion. I would look for a vintage machine if I were in your shoes. Most of them, with cleaning & service, will hold up to heavy duty sewing. This is just my personal opinion.
Marty ;)
Brighten each corner where you are ... smile!
MartySews2

New postby bridesmom on Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:20 pm

Are you able to test drive either machine?? If so, I'd try with different types of fabric, check the ease of changing needles, feet, etc as I have one machine that is next to impossible to change the needle or feet on, there is just no room to get your hands in there.
Laura
Go Canucks!
Asking a quilter to mend something is like asking Picasso to paint your garage